Ransom “elated” by Nobel Peace Prize loss

U.S. President Barack Obama is humbled by his Nobel Peace Prize, which was awarded to him by the Norwegian Nobel committee “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and co-operation between people.”

[Full Story]

Past winners of the Nobel Peace Prize include:

  • Anwar el-Sadat (1978), who started the Yom Kippur War
  • Yasser Arafat (1994), Palestinian terrorist
  • Jimmy Carter (2002), for failing to find a peaceful solution to the Middle East conflict
  • Al Gore (2007), for environmentalism having nothing to do with peace

Ransom shares his No-Bel with the following:

  • Mahatma Gandhi, seminal non-violent leader of the Indian independence movement
  • Pope John Paul II, pacifist and anti-Communist
  • Corazon Aquino, who restored democracy to the Philippines
  • Vaclav Havel, Czech post-Communist democratic reformer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: